Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
LP20 - 20% Off Vinyl
Home > Products for: '

Perez Prado

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Rough Guide To Cuban Rare Groove Rough Guide To Cuban Rare Groove Quick View

    Buy Now

    Rough Guide To Cuban Rare Groove

    Quite a few compilations have mined the rich reserves of 1960s and 1970s post-revolution music from Cuba, with several concentrating on the areas of funk, jazz, disco and rare groove in general. Others have dug deep into the vaults in Miami, where a young generation of children of Cuban exiles created an exciting stew of rock, funk and Cuban styles. This collection aims to be different and digs deeper, serving as a rough guide to Cuban-flavored rarities made outside of the island in the post-Castro diaspora, by a mix of Cuban and non-Cuban musicians from yesteryear and today.

    There is a special emphasis on talented Cuban expatriates like vocalist/percussionist Willy Chirino, composer/arranger, bandleader and pianist Julio GutiÉrrez, and percussionist/vocalist 'Manteca' (Lázaro Plá). We spotlight the influential Cuban label in exile, Gema Records, with eight old-school numbers, while several come from Europe: Pantaleón PÉrez Prado working in Milan, and the Brussels-based Dutch bandleader Nico Gómez, born Joseph Van Het Groenewoud, who was so obsessed with Cuban music that he changed his name. Gómez is backed here by the stalwart Belgian studio band, Los Chakachas, of 'Jungle Fever' fame. The set is rounded out with contemporary artists based in France, New York, and Miami. In keeping with the rare groove label, most have not appeared before on other Cuban-themed compilations.

    1. Quimbombo Con Mofongo - Julio GutiÉrrez And Los Guajiros
    2. Tequila - Pantaleon PÉrez Prado
    3. Africa - Willy Chirino
    4. Chacatá, Ya Llegó (feat. Bobby CarcassÉs) - Tata GÜines Y Su Grupo Cubano
    5. Love Van - Willy Chirino
    6. Contigo Me Voy (feat. Carlos Díaz) - Los Gatos Lecheros
    7. Cosquillita - Spam Allstars
    8. Camina Con Los Codos - PALO!
    9. Amor Y Felicidad - Jose Conde
    Various Artists
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • A Touch Of Tabasco A Touch Of Tabasco Quick View

    Buy Now

    A Touch Of Tabasco

    Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Master Tapes!

    Numbered Deluxe Laminated Gatefold Jackets!

    Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!

    This 1959 release was the only album vocalist Rosemary Clooney and Cuban band-leader/conductor Perez Prado recorded together and the first for Rosemary on her new label, RCA Victor. The original liner notes were contributed by Rosemary's husband Jose Ferrer.

    "On paper, this unlikely pairing of American popular vocalist Rosemary Clooney (who nearly defined the 1950s as a stylist) and Cuban percussionist and bandleader Perez Prado seemed to be a disaster in the making. The end result is quite the opposite. Recording during two session in July and August of 1959, this is simply one of the loveliest albums in either artist's catalog. The music is lively and colorful but retains Clooney's smooth and mellow character, and Prado's trademark arrangements and experiments with percussion, texture, and harmony. Apparently, Clooney had some trouble with pronunciation initially, but was coached by her husband, Puerto Rican actor Jose Ferrer (who wrote the original album's liner notes) and became a quick study. This merging of Latin and American standards is a tour de force that features some of the hottest session players in the biz including drummers Leo Acosta and Earl Palmer, as well as horn players Paul Horn and Ollie Mitchell..." - Thom Jurek,


    Numbered Deluxe Laminated Double Gatefold Jackets

    Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!

    Audiophile 180 gram, 45rpm Vinyl

    Double LP

    Pressed at RTI


    Rosemary Clooney, vocals

    Perez Prado, arranger, conductor

    This title is not eligible for discount.

    1. Corazon de Melon
    2. Like A Woman
    3. I Only Have Eyes For You
    4. Magic is the Moonlight
    5. In a Little Spanish Town
    6. Sway (Quien Sera)
    7. Mack the Knife
    8. Bali Ha'i
    9. You Do Something To Me
    10. Cu-Cu-Rru-Cu-Cu Paloma
    11. I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
    12. Adios
    Rosemary Clooney & Perez Prado
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP 45 RPM - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top