Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Oscar Peterson Exclusively For My Friends

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Exclusively For My Friends (On Sale) Exclusively For My Friends (On Sale) On Sale Quick View

    $239.99 $167.99 Save $72.00 (30%)

    Buy Now

    Exclusively For My Friends (On Sale)

    Oscar Peterson has stated that he feels his MPS recordings are his finest. That is quite a statement considering the huge amount of records that the pianist has produced through the past 50 years. This set reissues the music from six of his MPS LPs: Action, Girl Talk, The Way I Really Play, My Favorite Instrument, Mellow Mood, and Travelin' On. While some of the performances feature the 1963 trio he had with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen, most of the music dates from 1967-1968 and matches Peterson with bassist Sam Jones and either Louis Hayes or Bobby Durham on drums. A special treat is Peterson's first unaccompanied solo album... Peterson's many fans know what to expect in this set, while other listeners need to discover him to realize what all of the fuss was about. Quite simply, Oscar Peterson has long been one of the greatest pianists the world has ever known; this reissue offers plenty of proof.

    - Scott Yanow (All Music)
    1. At Long Last Love
    2. Easy Walker
    3. Tin Tin Deo
    4. I've Got a Crush On You
    5. Foggy Day
    6. Like Someone in Love

    1. On a Clear Day
    2. I'm in the Mood for Love
    3. Girl Talk
    4. I Concentrate On You
    5. Moon River
    6. Robbin's Nest

    1. Waltzing Is Hip
    2. Satin Doll
    3. Love Is Here to Stay
    4. Sandy's Blues
    5. Alice in Wonderland
    6. Noreen's Nocturne

    1. Someone to Watch Over Me
    2. Perdido
    3. Body and Soul
    4. Who Can I Turn To
    5. Bye, Bye Blackbird
    6. I Should Care
    7. Lulu's Back in Town
    8. Little Girl Blue
    9. Take the a Train

    1. In a Mellotone
    2. Nica's Dream
    3. Green Dolphin Street
    4. Summertime
    5. Sometimes I'm Happy
    6. Who Can I Turn To

    1. Travellin' On
    2. Emily
    3. Quiet Nights
    4. Sax No End
    5. When Lights Are Low

    Oscar Peterson
    $239.99 $167.99 Save $72.00 (30%)
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP Box Set - 6 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Exclusively for My Friends - The Lost Tapes (Speakers Corner) Exclusively for My Friends - The Lost Tapes (Speakers Corner) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Exclusively for My Friends - The Lost Tapes (Speakers Corner)

    Tears of sorrow mingled with tears of joy as Oscar Peterson fans realized that the keyboard genius who had just recovered his health was still capable of amazing them all, although he had obviously forfeited some of his past vitality. This may well have induced MPS - the label with whom Oscar Petersen himself claimed to have made his best recordings - to search their archives for lost tapes from Peterson's heydey. And lo and behold, a number of previously unreleased recordings were discovered which had been taped "exclusively for my friends" in the private studio in Villingen in 1965-1968.
    The electric atmosphere of these live sessions before a mere handful of listeners proves once again just how at home the musicians felt in the Black Forest villa - as is borne out by the fact that Peterson's usual trio formation alternated with his stand-in musicians of Sam Jones on the bass and Bobby Durham on the drums.

    And now, exclusively for all jazz fans, these amazing tracks are available for the very first time on an LP filled with glorious sound. Whether long-time collector or jazz newcomer, one thing is certain: this album belongs in every collection!


    • Oscar Peterson (piano)

    • Ray Brown, Sam Jones (bass)

    • Ed Thigpen, Bobby Durham (drums)

    Recording: May 1965, November 1967 and October 1968 at H.G. Brunner-Schwer's private studio's in Villingen/ Germany by H.-G. Brunner-Schwer

    Production: H.-G. Brunner-Schwer

    About Speakers Corner

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Speakers Corner all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existant tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasise that Speakers Corner Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle. We have one digital recording in our catalogue (Alan Parsons / Eye In The Sky"), but even in this particular case we used the analogue tapes for cutting.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects - excluding the exception above - and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Gravy Waltz
    2. Three O'Clock in the Morning
    3. Squeaky's Blues
    4. Tenderly
    5. I Will Wait for You
    6. Let's Fall in Love
    7. Put on a Happy Face
    8. Stella by Starlight
    9. Moanin' 10. Never Say Yes
    11. It's Impossible
    12. My Romance
    Oscar Peterson
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top