Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
LP20 - 20% Off Vinyl
Home > Products for: '

June Christy

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Something Cool Something Cool Quick View

    Buy Now

    Something Cool

    Although it was June Christy's youthfully exuberant vocals that helped to make Stan Kenton's 1945 juke box classic Tampico a swinging hit, it was her 1954 song about a lonely girl looking for a cool drink on a hot summer day that brought the name June Christy to the attention of jazz lovers. June didn't exactly invent cool jazz, just as Elvis didn't exactly invent rockabilly, but with a song perfectly crafted to her seductive and unique style, she will always be remembered for the song and the album with the same name. She wasn't the first lady to sing a cool song, but she was the best!

    If you are one of the cats who bought this record in the 50's the sound of Cisco's new record will jar your senses. With all the benefits of state-of-the-art mastering and the improved pressing on silent HQ 180 vinyl, the new Something Cool is truly something special!

    1. I'm Thrilled
    2. The Night We Called It a Day
    3. This Time the Dream's On Me
    4. Softly, As In a Morning Sunrise
    5. Midnight Sun
    6. Something Cool
    7. I Should Care
    8. Lonely House
    9. It Could Happen to You
    10. A Stranger Called the Blues
    11. I'll Take Romance
    June Christy
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • The Cool School (Pure Pleasure) The Cool School (Pure Pleasure) Quick View

    Buy Now

    The Cool School (Pure Pleasure)

    The Cool School remains the most complex and contradictory album in the June Christy catalog: a collection of children's music crafted without sentimentality or saccharine, it brilliantly articulates the confusion, isolation, and yearning that form the core of childhood experience. Equally surprising, the arrangements are the most direct and unadorned of Christy's career, eschewing horns and cotton-candy fluff to focus squarely on her crisp, nimble vocals and the Joe Castro Quartet's driving rhythms. Familiar songs like Swinging On A Star and Looking For A Boy are stripped of artifice to recapture their innate power and mystery. In short, The Cool School celebrates the intelligence of children, and refuses to pander to audiences of any age.


    • June Christy (vocal)

    • Joe Castro (piano, celeste)

    • Howard Roberts (guitar)

    • Leroy Vinnegar (bass)

    • Larry Bunker (drums, vibraphone, bongo)

    Recording: February 1960 in Los Angeles

    About Pure Pleasure

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Pure Pleasure all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existent tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasize that Pure Pleasure Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Give a Little Whistle
    2. The Magic Window
    3. Baby's Birthday Party
    4. When You Wish Upon a Star
    5. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
    6. Aren't You Glad You're You
    7. Kee-Mo Ky-Mo
    8. Scarlet Ribbons
    9. Looking For a Boy
    10. Small Fry
    11. Ding Dong the Witch Is Dead
    12. Swingin' On a Star
    June Christy
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Sugaring Season Sugaring Season Quick View

    Buy Now

    Sugaring Season

    Beth Orton's Anti debut captures the classic hypnotic sound that won her prominence, at the same time as it shows a singer at the full maturity of her instrument, with a new soulfulness that can recall Roberta Flack or Nina Simone one moment, June Christy at the next. Sugaring Season is in many ways a culmination of Orton's art of contradictions, a full circle from that first John Martyn cover she recorded with William Orbit back in the day ? soulful and ambient, lush and bittersweet, starkly still and fiercely rhythmic.
    01. Magpie
    02. Dawn Chorus
    03. Candles
    04. Something more Beautiful
    05. Call me the Breeze
    06. Poison Tree
    07. See through Blue
    08. Last Leaves of Autumn
    09. State of Grace
    10. Mystery
    Beth Orton
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Horror Show Horror Show Quick View

    Buy Now

    Horror Show

    Horror Show is the sixth studio album from the American heavy metal band Iced Earth, originally released June 26, 2001. It is a theme album based on classic monsters and horror-movie icons, including Dracula, Frankenstein, and the ghost from Phantom of the Opera. It was the first Iced Earth album to feature drummer Richard Christy, and the only album to feature Steve DiGiorgio on bass, though he did not tour with the band.

    Horror Show is usually considered Iced Earth's only straightforward power metal release, as little of the thrash metal influence from the band's earlier works is present. This album also featured more prominent usage of Matt Barlow's multi-layered vocals as a center point for the songs.

    LP 1
    1. Wolf
    2. Damien
    3. Jack
    4. Ghost of Freedom
    5. Im-Ho-Tep (Pharoah's Curse)
    6. Jeckyl & Hyde

    LP 2
    1. Dragon's Child
    2. Transylvania
    3. Frankenstein
    4. Dracula
    5. The Phantom Opera Ghost

    Iced Earth
    Vinyl LP Reissue - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top