Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
LP20 - 20% Off Vinyl
Home > Products for: '

Curtis Counce

  • 1
Results per page:
  • You Get More Bounce With Curtis Counce! You Get More Bounce With Curtis Counce! Quick View

    Buy Now

    You Get More Bounce With Curtis Counce!

    A busy bassist on the Los Angeles jazz scene, Curtis Counce performed with many of the greats: Stan Kenton, Gerald Wilson, Jack Sheldon, Harold Land, Al Perkins, and Frank Butler, and could be heard on recordings with Maynard Ferguson, Art Pepper, and Chet Baker, displaying his fine technique and admirable sense of time.
    On one of his few albums as a leader, Counce is presented in the kind of buoyant company that was not often associated with the phrase West Coast Jazz. The album features two originals, "Counceltation" and "Complete" as well as a handful of standards. With Jack Sheldon, Harold Land, Carl Perkins and Frank Butler.
    1. Complete
    2. How Deep Is the Ocean?
    3. Too Close for Comfort
    4. Mean to Me
    5. Stranger in Paradise
    6. Counceltation
    7. Big Foot
    Curtis Counce
    Vinyl LP Reissue - Sealed Buy Now
  • Best From The West - Modern Sounds From California, Vol. 1 Best From The West - Modern Sounds From California, Vol. 1 Quick View

    Buy Now

    Best From The West - Modern Sounds From California, Vol. 1

    This reissue will be released as part of the Blue Note 10" series - this is a collection of the best of West Coast - specifically - California Jazz.

    Musicians Include:

    Buddy Collette / Charlie Mariano / Herb Walsh (alto saxophone)

    Jimmy Giuffre (baritone saxophone)

    Curtis Counce / Joe Mondragon / Monty Budwig (bass)

    Jimmy Giuffre (clarinet)

    Larry Bunker / Stan Levey (drums)

    Buddy Collette (flute)

    John Graas (French horn)

    Howard Roberts (guitar)

    Gerry Wiggins / Lorraine Geller / Marty Paich (piano)

    Jimmy Giuffre (tenor saxophone)

    Bob Enevoldsen (trombone)

    Conte Candoli / Harry Edison (trumpet)

    1. Santa Anita
    2. Santa Monica
    3. The Blindfold Test No.

    4. Culver City
    5. The Blindfold Test No.

    6. Hooray For Hollywood
    Various Artists
    10 Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Picture of Heath (Pure Pleasure) Picture of Heath (Pure Pleasure) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Picture of Heath (Pure Pleasure)

    First released under the title "Playboys" in 1956 it was then re-released under the title "Picture Of Heath" in 1961 perhaps owing to the fact it carried the same name as a popular men's magazine.

    This was the third session together of the dynamic duo of Chet Baker and Art Pepper the previous two having been unequivocal successes. Baker and Pepper have an instinctual rapport that yields outstanding interplay.

    These thoroughly enjoyable and often high-energy sides are perfect for bop connoisseurs as well as mainstream jazz listeners.


    • Chet Baker (trumpet)

    • Art Pepper (alto saxophone)

    • Phil Urso (tenor saxophone)

    • Carl Perkins (piano)

    • Curtis Counce (bass)

    • Lawrence Marable (drums)

    Recording: October 1956

    About Pure Pleasure

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Pure Pleasure all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existent tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasize that Pure Pleasure Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Picture Of Heath
    2. For Miles And Miles

    3. C.T.A.
    4. For Minors Only
    5. Minor Yours
    6. Resonant Emotions

    7. Tynan Time
    Chet Baker & Art Pepper
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top