Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
LP20 - 20% Off Vinyl
Home > Products for: '

Arthur Brown

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Zim Zam Zim Zim Zam Zim Quick View

    Buy Now

    Zim Zam Zim

    73 years young, the original god of hellfire returns with very probably the most surprising and astonishing album of his career, and his first in 10 years. A cross-generational outing with Jim Mortimore and Sam Walker, this is a joyous, energetic and ambitious tour de force that shows Arthur to be as relevant today as when he had his worldwide number one hit with 'Fire'. Name-checked by Alice Cooper< Bruce Dickinson, Marilyn Manson, this British rock showman is truly a living legend.
    1. Zim Zam Zim
    2. Want To Love
    3. Jungle Fever
    4. The Unknown
    5. Assun 3:49
    6. Muscle of Love
    7. Junkyard King
    8. Light Your Light
    9. Touched By All
    10. The Formless Depths
    Crazy World Of Arthur Brown
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Atomic Rooster Atomic Rooster Quick View

    Buy Now

    Atomic Rooster

    1969 keyboard player Vincent Crane and drummer Carl Palmer, left The Crazy World of Arthur Brown and founded ATOMIC ROOSTER. The debut album was published in 1970 and became a respectable success, but Palmer moved to Emerson, Lake & Palmer, who became one of the supergroups of the Seventies. Crane continued with John DuCann on guitar and this occupation is still regarded as the most successful line-up of Atomic Rooster. After the second album DuCann got off. Then in 1979, the sensation, Crane and DuCann came together again. The same called album came out in 1980.
    1. They Took Control Of You
    2. My Woman
    3. He Did It Again
    4. Where's The Show
    5. In The Shadows
    6. Do You Know Who's Looking For You
    7. Don't Lose Your Mind
    8. Watch Out
    9. I Can't Stand It
    10. Lost In Space
    Atomic Rooster
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • The Sleeping Bag Sessions The Sleeping Bag Sessions Quick View

    Buy Now

    The Sleeping Bag Sessions

    Whether it's Hip Hop, it's face pointed reverentially to the Old School, or House stealing Disco riffs by the truck load,
    people are increasingly intrigued by back-in-the-day. And common to both the aforementioned scenes and much more
    is one person, Arthur Russell, a man some regard as the best songwriter of the 20th century.

    In 1981 Arthur set up Sleeping Bag Records with Will Socolov. The first release was the album "24-24 Music" as
    Dinosaur L. If you're wondering about the name it would appear Arthur would often use the names of extinct or
    near-extinct animals. On one production credit he's "Killer Whale, whilst the logo for Sleeping Bag is a Koala bear! Will
    remembers how they came up with the name for their label.

    "We were joking about names, and James Brown was on with "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag" and I was sleeping in a
    sleeping bag in my apartment and I kind of made a joke about that, and Arthur said that was a great idea for the name
    of the company!"

    The line up was pretty much the same as the Loose Joints sessions, (which boasted the Ingram Brothers rhythm
    section) and a similar stream-of-conscience approach was taken with the recording itself. Russell arranged the beats
    so there'd be a change every 24 bars (hence the title) and the band would have to improvise the songs over the top. He
    also made sure he went into the studio when there was a full moon! The album is again very experimental, and makes
    occasional uneasy listening but the same magic is very much in evidence.

    Arthur would continue to be involved in production and mixing duties for the label, but parted company with Socolov
    in 1985. Arthur sadly died of AIDS in 1992 leaving behind many songs; as one obituary put it, it was though he simply
    vanished into his music.

    1. Bonzo Goes To Washington - 5 Minutes (B-B-B Bombing Mix)
    2. Felix - Tiger Stripes (Extended Version)
    3. Felix - You Can't Hold Me Down (Extended Version)
    4. Clandestine Featuring Ned Sublette - Radio Rhythm (S-I-G-N-A-L S-M-A-R-T) (Extra Cheese Mix)
    5. Sounds Of JHS 126 Brooklyn - Chill Pill (Underwater Mix)
    6. Indian Ocean - School Bell / Tree House (Original 12 Version)
    7. Indian Ocean - Treehouse (Extended Bootleg Edit)
    8. Dinosaur L - Go Bang! (Walter Gibbons Mix)
    9. Bonzo Goes To Washington - 5 Minutes (R-R-R Radio Mix)
    10. Clandestine Featuring Ned Sublette - Radio Rhythm (S-I-G-N-A-L-S-M-A-R-T) (Dub Mix) (Killer Whale)
    Arthur Russell
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Timeless: March 15, 2009 Timeless: March 15, 2009 Quick View

    Buy Now

    Timeless: March 15, 2009

    Part one of a three part series

    Packaged in a beautiful 5-color gatefold jacket
    printed on brown chip board

    Includes extensive liner notes and interview

    Folk-jazz composer/arranger Arthur Verocai was born in
    Rio de Janeiro. He has created challenging arrangements
    and compositions for Brazilian artists Jorge Ben, Ivan Lins,
    Leny Andrade and Gal Costa. In 1972 Verocai recorded a
    self-titled solo LP. It is a stunningly innovative effort. It puts Verocai into a rarified field with the heavy string oriented music of Charles Stepney, David Axelrod and Frank
    Zappa. Released in a period marked by the Brazilian
    military government, the album fared poorly. Following its
    re-issue in 2003 the album has become a highly influential
    oft sampled classic (see Ludacris, MF Doom and Little
    Brother). The performance of this seminal 1972 record in
    its entirety brought the capacity Luckmann crowd to a
    stand still. According to Verocai, he had never played the
    record, alive or dead! His delight at the opportunity to play this music 37 years later can be seen on the DVD. The
    music has been mixed by Verocai himself in Rio. History turned on its head and musical justice served

    Side 1
    1. Karina
    2. Sylvia
    3. Dedicada a ela
    4. Velho Parente

    Side 2
    1. Presente Grego
    2. O Mapa
    3. Pelas Sombras
    4. Caboclo
    5. Seriado
    6. Filhos

    Side 3
    1. Queimadas
    2. Balada 45
    3. Sucuri
    4. Flying to LA

    Side 4
    1. O Tempo e o vento
    2. Isabel
    3. Bis
    4. Na Boca Do Sol

    Arthur Verocai
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Applecores Applecores Quick View

    Buy Now


    Sunny Murray: drums; Frank Foster: soprano sax (1, 2, 3); Oliver Lake: alto sax (2); Jimmy Vass: alto sax (1, 3); Don Pullen: piano (1, 2, 3); Monnette Sudler: guitar (1, 2, 3, 4); Cecil McBee: bass (1, 2, 3); Fred Hopkins: bass (4); Hamiet Bluiett: baritone sax (4); Arthur Blythe: alto sax (4); Abdul Zahir Batin: flute, whistles, percussion (5); Youseff Yancy: trumpet, flugelhorn, theremin, various electro-acoustical sound manipulating devices (1, 3, 4, 5); Sonny Brown: drums (5)
    1. Apple Cores
    2. Past Perfect Tense
    3. One Down and One Up
    4. New York Maze
    5. Applebuff
    Sunny Murray's Untouchable Factor
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top