Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
LP20 - 20% Off Vinyl
Home > Products for: '

Archie Bell

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Strategy (Discontinued) (On Sale) Strategy (Discontinued) (On Sale) On Sale Quick View

    $32.99 $26.06 Save $6.93 (21%)

    Buy Now

    Strategy (Discontinued) (On Sale)

    This band from Houston, Texas scored several hits with I Can't Stop Dancing, Tighten It Up and Strategy .

    Archie Bell & The Drells released seven albums in ten years and the tension that existed on their previous two records, which slipped back and forth across the disco/funk divide, is gone here.

    'Strategy', including honky tonk pianos, swelling strings sections, thumping basslines and soul singing background vocalists making this one of their best albums.
    Elements of Barry White and Harold Melvin making this album a full disco album.

    It made it to #37 in the R&B Charts, and Music On Vinyl has the honour to re-release it for the first time on vinyl since its original release.

    1. Show Me How To Dance
    2. I Can't Get Enough Of Your Love
    3. How Can I
    4. We've Got Somethin'

    1. Tighten Up At The Disco
    2. Strategy
    3. You're The Only One
    4. We Got 'Em Dancing

    Archie Bell & The Drells
    $32.99 $26.06 Save $6.93 (21%)
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • I Can't Stop Dancing I Can't Stop Dancing Quick View

    Buy Now

    I Can't Stop Dancing

    I Can't Stop Dancing
    (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
    Do The Choo-Choo
    You're Such A Beautiful Child
    Monkey Time
    Do You Feel It?
    I've Been Trying
    Jammin' In Houston
    Love Will Rain On You
    Sometimes I Wonder
    Archie Bell & The Drells
    Vinyl LP Reissue - Sealed Buy Now
  • There's Gonna Be A Showdown There's Gonna Be A Showdown Quick View

    Buy Now

    There's Gonna Be A Showdown


    1. I Love My Baby
    2. Houston Texas
    3. (There's Gonna Be A) Showdown
    4. Giving Up Dancing
    5. Girl You're Too Young
    6. Mama Didn't Teach Me That Way


    1. Do The Hand Jive
    2. My Balloon's Going Up
    3. Here I go Again
    4. Go For What You Know
    5. Green Power
    6. Just A Little Closer

    Archie Bell & The Drells
    Vinyl LP Reissue - Sealed Buy Now
  • Hard For To Win And Can't Be Won Hard For To Win And Can't Be Won Quick View

    Buy Now

    Hard For To Win And Can't Be Won

    I suppose it's not terribly difficult to play a guitar - to hold the thing in your arms, to move your hands across its body in all the prescribed and proven ways, to coax a little melody into being.
    But what Nathan Salsburg - an acoustic guitarist and the curator of the Alan Lomax archive, a Pennsylvania-born Kentuckian who has logged good time in coastal Maine - does with his instrument is singular, nearly mystic: his are agile, engaging compositions, songs that feel desirous and questioning and vital, as if they weren't just channeled into being, but demanded revelation.

    Nathan's 2011 solo debut, Affirmed, directly addressed a trio of thoroughbreds - Affirmed, Eight Belles, and Bold Ruler - which also made it at least in part about Salsburg's Kentucky: the land that sustained and nurtured those horses, the ancient traditions that anointed and sometimes undid them. Its follow-up, Hard For To Win and Can't Be Won, is also a record about place, although its landscapes are less specific. Some of them are memories, even: spaces that were real once, but have to be conjured now, willed to or from mind. Most of the album's songs are instrumental, save two re-workings of older material: "Coll Mackenzie," written and first performed by Archie Fisher, and "To Welcome the Travelers Home," a composite of two traditional nineteenth-century pieces; one sacred, one less so. Both songs concern homecomings, what it feels like to be enveloped by a place that you know will sustain you, will nurture what needs nurturing.

    Musically, Nathan has emerged from a venerable tradition that includes Lena Hughes and Frank Hutchison, John Fahey and Ry Cooder. I'm reluctant to make too much of his virtuosity - and he is virtuosic, a staggering craftsman - because he is
    also in the unique position of having that be the least interesting thing about his playing. There are moments in Nathan's pieces - these nimble rhythmic shifts, steps from one place to another - that make my knees quiver. Listening to him play, it's hard not to feel subsumed by gratitude.

    I'm just as hesitant to frame his work as subversive, and yet - he is such a remarkably courageous writer and musician, and Hard For To Win and Can't Be Won is so matchless a document, so inimitable in its moves. This is the sort of record
    that could change the course of your year. It certainly changed mine. - Amanda Petrusich

    1. First Field Path
    2. Mrs. Gristle's Reel
    3. Paraffin & Turpentine
    4. Coll Mackensie
    5. Concessions
    6. Dog At Bay
    7. Chief Wants
    8. To Welcome The Travelers Home
    9. What Can't Be Won
    Nathan Salsburg
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Changes Changes Quick View

    Buy Now


    As their ninth and last album from their hit making 1966-1970 era, The Monkees Changes is one of their most collectable efforts fetching over $300 for a mint copy of the album. This highly regarded fan favorite was a treasure trove of songs providing the soundtrack to the final year of their Saturday afternoon television show, as it featured the double-sided hit single Oh My My and I Love You Better.

    Micky Dolenz and Davy Jones first class musicianship excel throughout this 1970 session. They revisit the great Boyce and Hart with I Never Thought It Peculiar as well as Davy Jones rockin' delivery on 99 Pounds and the underrated Micky Dolenz performance Ticket On Ferry Ride.

    Produced by the much acclaimed sixties producer/writer Jeff Barry (The Monkees, Neil Diamond, The Archies), Changes was the first full-fledged production by this Monkees collaborator as it showed the true pop genius of both the band and producer in the studio. Augmented with some very cool seventies writers Andy Kim (Rock Me Gently) and the late Bobby Bloom (Montego Bay), this later Monkees album truly was a grand farewell from this band until their unbelievable history making 1986 return.

    Unavailable for many years on compact disc, The Monkees Changes is available once again from the original Colgems Records recordings and features three huge bonus tracks not on the original album, including the very rare and hard to find Bell Records 45 Do It In The Name Of Love , plus new liners from Monkees historian Joe Reagoso, as well as original artwork elements and rare picture sleeves and other memorbilla. Peace, Love & The Monkees!

    1. Oh My My
    2. Ticket On A Ferry Ride
    3. You're So Good To Me
    4. It's Got To Be Love
    5. Acapulco Sun
    6. 99 Pounds
    7. Tell Me Love
    8. Do You Feel It Too?
    9. I Love You Better
    10. All Alone In The Dark
    11. Midnight Train
    12. I Never Thought It Peculiar
    The Monkees
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top