Vinyl. Our way of life since 2004 (877) 929-8729

VPI Dealer Authorized & Certified
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
LP20 - 20% Off Vinyl
Home > Products for: '

808 State

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Ex:El Ex:El Quick View

    Buy Now


    25th Anniversary Album!

    Limited To 750 Numbered Copies On Yellow Vinyl

    4 Page Booklet / Printed Innersleeves

    Includes 4 Bonus Tracks (Featuring Björk On Ooops)

    ex:el is the third studio album by 808 State, released in 1991. In contrast to the band's previous works, the album features heavier beats and percussion, embracing earlier flirtations with hip-hop and industrial music.

    The album also features the guest vocals of Bernard Sumner of Joy Division and New Order fame, who sings on Spanish Heart. In addition, Björk sings on Qmart and Ooops and is credited with co-writing the two songs, establishing a partnership with 808 State's Graham Massey that would result in his working on many of her solo projects.

    Add to all this two of the best techno singles from the early '90s -- In Yer Face, a subtly politicized anti-American slammer, and the almighty Cubik; and Ex:El stands out all the more strongly. A true masterpiece.

    ex:el is 808 State at play, The soundtrack to a party, with all the moments of elation, exhaustion and regret. Record Mirror

    LP 1

    1. San Francisco
    2. Spanish Heart (Featuring Bernard Sumner)
    3. Leo Leo
    4. Qmart (Featuring Björk)
    5. Nephatiti
    6. Lift
    7. Ooops (Featuring Björk)
    8. Empire

    LP 2

    1. In Yer Face (In Yer Face Mix)
    2. CÜbik (Original Mix)
    3. Lambrusco Cowboy
    4. Techno Bell
    5. Olympic *
    6. Ski Family *
    7. Ooops (Utsala Head Mix) *
    8. CÜbik (Monkey Mafia Remix) *

    * Bonus Tracks

    808 State
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Don Solaris Don Solaris Quick View

    Buy Now

    Don Solaris

    First Pressing Of 750 Individually Numbered Copies On 180 Gram Gold Vinyl, Black Vinyl Thereafter

    Gatefold Sleeve

    Includes 4 Page Booklet With Text Written By Ian Peel

    Printed Innersleeves

    Expanded Edition Includes Azura, Bond, Joyrider Plus 6 Bonus Tracks A.o: Goa, Lopez (Brian Eno Mix), Baton Rouge (Cajun Mix)

    In the late '80s, Eight-O-Eight State was at the forefront of England's still developing electronic music scene. Don Solaris, the group's first widely available album in more than four years, is something of a return for the group.

    The music on this album is diverse, exploring many formats and styles. This album may upon first listen sound too much like a techno-rock crossover. But it is far from that - this music is foremost moody, deep, and full of risks.

    An ambient piece begins the album, and runs into the industrial and heavy sounds of Bond. Vocals are featured on this track, as well as a string bass and harmonica, bell sounds and chimes.

    Bird and Azura throw the listener into a more bass heavy and danceable space. Vocal samples and somewhat eerie sounds give Bird a very moody feel, while jamming drums assault the mind. Steel drums from the Caribbean soothe the ears, when drum and bass rhythms break in through the serenity, accompanied by the tense and beautiful vocals of Louise Rhodes from Lamb. A bass line ricochets between the steel drums and kick-drum punches, bouncing off the walls and the trees of this far-out hot jungle. 808 State continue their journey into pop dynamics, dance, jazz and electronic breathing with Black Dartangnon and Joyrider.

    Balboa brings in tons of bass, perfect for those who love to feel it coming up from below, or like a wall of sound from speakers. If you love music, you'll enjoy Don Solaris. It was experimental in the right ways and well ahead of its time.

    LP 1
    1. Intro
    2. Bond
    3. Bird
    4. Azura
    5. Black Dartangnon
    6. Joyrider
    7. Lopez
    8. Balboa
    9. Kohoutek
    10. Mooz

    LP 2
    1. Jersahat
    2. Banacheq
    3. Goa
    4. Chisler
    5. Lopez (Brian Eno Mix)
    6. Joyrider (A Natural Mix)
    7. Baton Rouge (Cajun Mix)
    8. Bonded

    808 State
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Gorgeous Gorgeous Quick View

    Buy Now


    First Pressing Of 750 Individually Numbered Copies On 180 Gram Purple Vinyl, Black Vinyl Thereafter

    Gatefold Sleeve

    Includes Insert With Text Written By Ian Peel

    Printed Innersleeves

    Expanded Edition Includes Contrique, 10 X 10 Plus 7 Bonus Tracks

    808 State are an English electronic music group, formed in 1987 in Manchester, taking their name from the Roland TR-808 drum machine. 808 State's style has been labelled as techno and house, and the band are regarded as pioneers of the acid house sound.

    Martin Price was the owner of a record store, Eastern Bloc, and was also the founder of the independent record label, Creed. Customers Graham Massey and Gerald Simpson joined Price to form a hip hop group called Hit Squad Manchester. Soon after, the band shifted to acid house, using the name 808 State for the first time.

    Gorgeous is their fourth studio album. The album has some new wave influences; sampling Joy Division's track She's Lost Control in Contrique, Ian McCulloch as guest vocalist on Moses and 10 X 10 a gospel-house track built on the foundation of The Jam's Start!.
    You will also find a reworking of UB40's One in Ten.
    Furthermore the album features guest vocalists Barrington Stuart, Rachel McFarlane and Caroline Seaman.

    The Music On Vinyl expanded edition is now available as a limited edition of 750 copies on Purple Vinyl.

    LP 1
    1. Plan 9
    2. Moses
    3. Contrique
    4. 10 X 10
    5. Timebomb
    6. One In Ten
    7. Europa
    8. Orbit
    9. Black Morpheus
    10. Southern Cross
    11. Nimbus
    12. Colony

    LP 2
    1. Stormin' Norman
    2. Lemon*
    3. Sexy Synthesizer
    4. Purple Dust*
    5. Femme Deluxe*
    6. Sexy Dancer
    7. Mondonet*
    8. Bombadin (Unreleased Edit)*
    9. Timebomb (Oldham Mix)*
    10. Plan 9 (Memory Moog Mix)*

    *Bonus Tracks

    808 State
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • City: Works Of Fiction City: Works Of Fiction Quick View

    Buy Now

    City: Works Of Fiction

    Combining his trademark brand of Fourth World fusion with new influences from the emerging hip-hop scene, this 1990 album is a landmark release in Jon Hassell's career to date. Futuristic sci-fi funk with a completely melted production aesthetic -- instruments and samples blur into one another in the manner of the best dub records. Presented here in a deluxe triple disc edition alongside a 1989 concert performance of the City group, mixed live by Brian Eno, and a carefully edited sequence of alternate takes, demos and re-interpretations by current electronic producers that presents a parallel dimension version of the original release. Remix artists include new Warp artist patten as well as 808 State, No UFOs, Bass Clef and Some Truths The vinyl edition features the original album re-cut as a double album for extra wide grooves and improved bass response (the original issue had an hour of music squeezed onto a single piece of vinyl).
    1. Voiceprint (Blind from the Facts)
    2. Pagan
    3. Mombasa
    4. Tikal
    5. In the City of Red Dust
    6. Rain
    7. Ba-Ya D
    8. Warriors
    9. Out of Adedara
    Jon Hassell
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top